DON’T BE FOOLED

I didn’t start tango when I was a child. I don’t have a dance background. I’ll never be even half as good as the dancers I watch on youtube. I’m too fat. I’m too skinny. I don’t know enough about the history of tango. I’m not musical. I’m too old. I’m too young. I’m afraid of embarrassing myself. I’m not a natural dancer. I need more (or less) alcohol.

Every hear those words in your head?

They’re being spoken by the part of our brain that claims to keep us safe by avoiding risk and failure. It does a good job sounding rational.

But in reality, risk aversion is often worse than the actual risk itself.

The only way we can truly fail at tango is if we let our brains fool us into giving up.

bad dancing

Leave a Reply

